Dare to Use Flares

Like a lot of tanks, I use raid flares. I use them in raids, I use them in 5mans, I use them to annoy guildmates in Stormwind. Sometimes I use all 5 of them. Now that Blizzard upped the time before they expire from 10 minutes to 4 hours in 4.1, I no longer have to re-set them every attempt on a heroic boss.

Sometimes during a heroic raid boss, things don’t go as planned. Flares might expire (if your raid lasts longer than 4 hours), plans might change, that spot you want to use for boss ability X might be covered in a blanket of fire. Learning how to change flares on the fly can help you react to this. If you know how to Warrior Leap or D&D in the middle of a fight, you already know how to flare, once you have the appropriate tools. I’m going to give you those tools. Make 6 macros, and prepare to use up to 6 keybinds.

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button1

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button2

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button3

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button4

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button5

/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeader OptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button6

You’ll need to remove the space between “Leader” and “Options”, it wouldn’t fit on the page without a space breaking it up. These macros allow you to keybind your flares, ending the horrible necessity of opening those Blizzard raid frames to do it. Buttons 1-6 correspond to Square, Triangle, Diamond, X, Star, and clearing all flares. If you have a flare down and you hit the keybind, it will clear the flare and you’ll need to hit it a second time before you can drop the flare again. I have Star bound to F10, and the other 5 macros bound to various modifiers plus F10. I am a flare-tossing champion, in-combat or not.

One thing that most people don’t know though, is that keybinding your flares allows you to use them in any group, not just raid groups. This is occasionally useful for flaring spots the way you would in a raid, but it’s also quite good for trolling people who irrationally hate flares for no reason at all. I made a healer leave the group at the Deadmines ship because he didn’t like my flare rainbow and couldn’t figure out how to get rid of it.

I don’t give away a lot of tank secrets, but this is a good one to start with.

3 Comments

Filed under Help, Raiding

3 responses to “Dare to Use Flares

  1. Ok, Arazu, this is worth its weight in gold. I’ve been trying to figure out how to do this ever since they came out.
    Thanks!

  2. The raid leader in me thanks you, wow! 😀

  3. I love you. My raid leader will love you. My cat and future children are considering it too! I’ve been relying on ElvUI for my flare needs, but I like being able to change my UI at my whimsy!

Leave a Reply

